

Resolution of Council

25 June 2018

Item 4.1

New Membership of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Panel 2018-2021

File No: X013663.001

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

Background

In June 2008, Council resolved to establish an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander advisory panel. The panel's purpose is to provide advice on the policies and operations of the City of Sydney in relation to matters of importance to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The need for the panel was identified during consultation with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people during the development of Sustainable Sydney 2030. The panel was recommended as a formal process to improve the dialogue between the City and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The panel operates under the Terms of Reference which provide for appointments for three years, with up to two consecutive appointments allowed. The term of the panel expires on 1 August 2018.

The panel has contributed to the broad range of work covered by the Eora Journey. The panel has also provided valuable insight to the City's Reconciliation Action Plan and the development of the Naming Policy which guides the approach to using Aboriginal words in naming.

Councillor Scully was appointed Co-Chair of the Panel in 2016, with Councillor Miller appointed as alternate.

city of villages

The City would like to acknowledge the contributions of the departing panel members who served two consecutive terms: Norma Ingram, Lachlan McDaniel, Patricia Adjei, Tracey Duncan, Mayrah Sonter and Liza-Marie Syron.

Nominations for new panel members

Eight current panel members were eligible to sit for another term and three have reapplied - Timothy Gray, Frank Trotman-Golden and Nicole Monks. There were two nominations from members of previous panel terms - Bronwyn Penrith and Sara Hamilton. The call for expressions of interest was advertised in both Indigenous and mainstream media outlets, the City's website and social media channels and through local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander networks. A total of 23 nominations were received.

It is recommended that Council ratify the appointment of 18 panel members for a period of three years:

- Timothy Gray
- Frank Trotman-Golden
- Nicole Monks
- Bronwyn Penrith
- Rhonda Grovenor
- Sara Hamilton
- Matthew Doyle
- Delilah MacGillivray
- Jinny-Jane Smith
- Dallas Wellington
- Ashlee Donohue
- Medika Thorpe
- Steven Satour
- Suzy Evans
- Beau James
- Daniel Coe
- Ryan Donohue-Pitt
- Edie Coe

Amendments to the Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference have been reviewed and it is recommended that they be revised as follows:

(i) Membership

Increase the panel membership from 16 to 19. This will be made up of:

- Two Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Elders
- Two Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander young people 18-33 years
- Up to 14 Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander community representatives
- One City of Sydney Councillor

(ii) Payment

Increase the sitting fee from \$200 per meeting to \$300 per meeting to reflect the value of the time and expertise of panel members.

It is recommended that Council endorse amendments to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Panel Terms of Reference, as provided in full in Attachment A.

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) Council ratify the appointment of the following 18 members to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Panel: Timothy Gray, Frank Trotman-Golden, Nicole Monks, Bronwyn Penrith, Rhonda Grovenor, Sara Hamilton, Matthew Doyle, Delilah MacGillivray, Jinny-Jane Smith, Dallas Wellington, Ashlee Donohue, Medika Thorpe, Steven Satour, Suzy Evans, Beau James, Daniel Coe, Ryan Donohue-Pitt and Edie Coe for a three year term commencing 1 August 2018;
- (B) the remainder of eligible nominees form an eligibility list in case any of those primarily selected are unable to participate or continue their full term; and
- (C) Council approve amendments to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander advisory panel Terms of Reference, as detailed in this memo and in Attachment A to this memo.

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer

Attachments

Attachment A. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Panel – Amended Terms of Reference

Moved by the Chair (the Lord Mayor), seconded by Councillor Miller –

That the Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer be endorsed and adopted.

Carried unanimously.